Celebrating Excellence at the 2015 D&T Excellence Awards

Published 3rd December 2015

On Friday 20th March at 7pm the D&T Excellence Awards kicked off at The Crystal, a beautiful venue on the banks of Victoria Docks in London.

Guests and winners from all over the world turned up for this prestigious event, recognising the achievements of outstanding D&T teachers and contributors over the years. We met some of the most passionate and progressive educators and it was an honour to see them accepting our awards for all the hard work they have put in for the good of D&T education and the pupils they teach.

The winners for the evening were

Outstanding Contribution to Design and Technology Education Award

• Pam Bolton – Consultant 

• John Mattick – Chairman of the D&T Association - retired

Teacher Training Design and Technology Award

• Bernard Cooper – County inspector for D&T, Hampshire County Council

• Alison Hardy – Senior lecturer, Nottingham Trent University

Subject Leadership Design and Technology Award

• Avril Allan – Eastwood High School, Glasgow

• Julie Mansfield – Collis Primary School, Twickenham. London

• David Dixon – Tonbridge School, Kent

Outstanding Teacher Design and Technology Award

• Pete Maguire – Finham Park School, Coventry, West Midlands.

• Rachael Sandham – Fair Oak Academy, Rugeley, Staffordshire 

• Melissa Parkin – Grange Technology College, Yorkshire

• Gareth Streatfield – Thomas Telford School, Shropshire

• Sally Beeston – Groby Community College, Groby, Leicestershire

• Alyson Guest, Wrockwardine Wood Primary School, Telford, Shropshire

Outstanding Newcomer to Design and Technology Award

• Emma Davies – Afon Taf High School, Merthyr Tydfil

• Claire Wainwright – The Kimberley School, Nottinghamshire

Exceptional Support for Design and Technology Award

• Sean Stidder - Heathfield Community College, East Sussex

• Ann Webb - Haberdashers' Aske's Crayford Academy, Kent

• Rachael Lodge - Thornton Grammar School, Bradford

International Development and Support of Design and Technology

• John Zobrist – United World College of South East Asia, Singapore

D&T Education and Industry Engagement

• Graham Williams – The Ace Academy Tipton, West Midlands

• Pam James - Thornton Grammar School, Bradford

Sponsored Awards

Bernard Brown Award  - Pam Bolton 

IET Award for Digital Design and Technology in Schools - Gareth Streatfield

James Dyson Foundation Design and Technology Teacher of the Year Award - Alyson Guest

Meat and Education Design and Technology Award - Melissa Parkin

National STEM Centre Innovative Collaboration in Design and Technology Award - Pete Maguire

Rapid Education Award for Outstanding Demonstration of Engineering in Design and Technology - Pete Maguire

VEX Robotics Award for Outstanding Extra-Curricular Engagement in Design and Technology - Emma Davies

Back to News