Celebrating Excellence in Design and Technology 2020

Published 28th February 2020

This year we are delighted to welcome our winners and their guests to the presentation dinner for the 20th Design & Technology Association Excellence Awards. The Awards will be held at IET London, 2 Savoy Place, London WC2R 0BL on Friday 20th March 2020.

The event is hosted by the D&T Association and the Institution of Engineering Technology. Frida Nzaba from Rolls-Royce & WISE Young Women's Board Member will be delivering an inspiring after dinner talk about her career. The awards give professional recognition to individuals nominated by their colleagues for their unique work in design and technology education across the categories.

The winners for the 20th Design and Technology Excellence Awards will be formally announced after the awards evening. We have had an outstanding number of nominations this year and it is really positive to see all the hard work that takes place in our D&T classrooms. We would like to thank those that nominated a colleague. The caliber of nominations that we received this year was very high. If you made a nomination this year and your candidate has not been notified, they will automatically go into the nominations for next year. Thank you for your continued efforts within Design and Technology.

We would like to thank all of our sponsors for their invaluable support: The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET), The James Dyson Foundation, The Royal Academy of Engineering, Manufacturing Technologies Association (MTA), HME Logistics LLP, N.E.J Stevenson and FlameFast UK Ltd.

The Excellence Awards recognize individuals nominated by their colleagues for their unique work in design and technology education across the categories.

The categories are as follows:

CATEGORY 1: Flamefast UK Ltd award for Innovation and creativity in design and technology 

CATEGORY 2: Inspirational teaching of design and technology award – Primary

CATEGORY 3: The HME Logistics LLP award for Inspirational teaching of design and technology – Secondary 

CATEGORY 4: The James Dyson Foundation award for excellence in engineering education 

CATEGORY 5:  The Institution of Engineering and Technology award for creative use of digital technologies in design and technology

CATEGORY 6: The Manufacturing Technologies Association award for Industry engagement 

CATEGORY 7: Development of STEM learning opportunities award

CATEGORY 8: Royal Academy for Engineering award for Exceptional pupil achievement

CATEGORY 9: Design and technology subject leadership award

CATEGORY 10: Supporting design and technology award

CATEGORY 11: Design and technology teacher education award

CATEGORY 12: NEJ Stevenson award for Outstanding contribution to Design and Technology

If you nominated a colleague and would like to know if your nomination has been successful, please do feel free to email us or call 01789470007.

Back to News