Celebrating Excellence in Design and Technology Education in 2016

Published 14th March 2016

This year we were delighted to welcome 24 winners and their guests to the presentation dinner for the 16th D&T Association Excellence Awards, held at IET London, 2 Savoy Place, London WC2R 0BL on Friday 11th March 2016. Over 130 guests enjoyed the presentation evening, hosted by Kate Bellingham. The awards gave professional recognition to individuals nominated by their colleagues for their unique work in design and technology education across the categories. Awards were kindly presented by Lesley Morris, Chair of D&T Association and the evening's speaker, Mark Miodownik, Professor of Materials & Society at UCL.

We would like to thank everyone who attended for making the evening so memorable and a big thank you to our sponsors for their invaluable support. Last, but certainly not least, we congratulate again our very worthy 2016 award winners, who are:

Outstanding Contribution to D&T Education Award

  • Sandie Kendall, Consultant, Lewisham
  • Gwyneth Owen-Jackson, Retired
  • Mike Hopkinson, Retired

Teacher Training Design and Technology Award

  • Matt McLain, Liverpool John Moores University
  • Beverley Lawe, Nottingham Trent University
  • Jason Davies, Cardiff School of Education

Subject Leadership Design and Technology Award

  • Andrew Thomson, Highgate School, London
  • Louise Tucker, Maidstone Grammar School for Girls, Kent
  • Kiran Ramlagan, Redbridge Primary School, Ilford

Outstanding Teacher Design and Technology Award

  • Denise Maiden, Highworth Grammar School, Kent

Josie Douglas, Malden Parochial Church of England Primary School, Surrey

  • Rebecca Topps, St George’s Academy, Sleaford
  • James Bleach, Samuel Ward Academy, Suffolk
  • Kishon Green, Queens Park Community School, London
  • Philip Cain, Robert May’s School, Hook

Outstanding Newcomer to Design and Technology Award

  • Christopher McGhee, Guildford High School, Surrey
  • Sophie Bruce, Trenance Learning Academy, Cornwall
  • Natasha Hammond, St Bede’s Inter-Church School, Cambridge

Exceptional Support

  • David Barley, Bishop Heber High School, Cheshire
  • Rose Russell, Ursuline Academy, Ilford
  • Kathy Hunt and Lynn Pettet, Godwin Primary School, Dagenham

International Development and Support of Design and Technology

  • John Williams, Professor, Curtin University, Western Australia
  • Ron Todd, Professor – Retired, United States of America

D&T Education and Industry Engagement

  • Graham Swindley, The King’s School, Canterbury
Back to News