Celebrating Excellence in Design and Technology Education in 2018

Published 26th March 2018

This year we were delighted to welcome our winners and their guests to the presentation dinner for the 18th Design & Technology Association Excellence Awards. The Awards were held at IET London, 2 Savoy Place, London WC2R 0BL on Friday 23rd March 2018. Around 120 guests enjoyed the presentation evening, hosted by the D&T Association and the Institution of Engineering Technology. Sir Paul Grant, former head teacher of Robert Clack School in London delivered an inspiring after dinner talk about his career in education and the support he has given to the hundreds of schools, nationally. The awards gave professional recognition to individuals nominated by their colleagues for their unique work in design and technology education across the categories.

We would like to thank everyone who attended and all of our sponsors for making the evening so memorable and a big thank you to our sponsors for their invaluable support:

  • The IET,
  • Royal Academy of Engineering
  • Technology Supplies Ltd,
  • The James Dyson Foundation
  • University of Hertfordshire,
  • STEM Learning Centre,
  • VEX Robotics,
  • Manufacturing Technologies Association (MTA)

Last, but certainly not least, we congratulate again our very worthy 2018 award winners, who are:

CATEGORY 1 - Muhammad Shamshad Azad, winner of Technology Supplies Innovation and Creativity in Design and Technology Award

CATEGORY 2 - Lisa Larham, winner of Inspirational Teaching of Design and Technology Award in Primary School

CATEGORY 3 - Michael Williams, winner of Hertfordshire University Award for Inspirational Teaching of Design and Technology in Secondary School

CATEGORY 4 - Rebecca Warner, winner of The James Dyson Foundation Award for Excellence in Engineering Education

CATEGORY 5 - Richard Nash, winner of The Institution of Engineering and Technology Award for Creative use of Digital Technologies in Design and Technology

CATEGORY 6 -  Jim Jenner, winner of The Manufacturing Technologies Association award for Industry engagement

CATEGORY 7 - David Hainsworth, winner of STEM Learning Center Award for Development of STEM Learning Opportunities

CATEGORY 8 - Bethan Wilkinson, winner The Royal Academy of Engineering Exceptional Pupil Achievement Award

CATEGORY 9 - Scot Bradley, winner of Design and technology Subject Leadership

CATEGORY 10 - Garry Binns, CATEGORY 10 winner of Supporting Design and Technology Award

CATEGORY 11 - Susan McLaren, winner of Design and technology Teacher Education Award

CATEGORY 12 - Susan McLaren and Louise Davies, winners for Outstanding contribution to Design and Technology Award

Back to News