Putting the School Food Teacher at the Heart of School Food

Published 4th May 2016

The School Food Champions Programme has been working with Secondary school food teachers to help achieve and sustain increases in school meal uptake since September 2014.

The programme which finished in March 2016 has brought together the skills and knowledge of the school food teacher with the experience of the school meal provider to provide healthy and appealing school meals to win back pupils into their dining rooms.

Supported by changes to schemes of work to focus on school food, school councils and Senior Leadership Teams our Champions have achieved on average an increase of 14% per half term.

Our Champions have also been successful in sustaining these increases through regular communications with the whole school community, listening to pupil voice and changing menus to meet the needs of pupils. 

Congratulations go to the 41 Champions who successfully achieved increases over 5% for three or more consecutive half terms, they are:

Adele James – Whitefield School

Alyson Smith – The Prescot School (formerly Knowsley Park School)

Aoife Kilbane - De La Salle School and Language College

April Booker – Oasis Academy Brightstowe

Bev Savage – Pitcheroak School

Chris Popple – Chesterton Community College

Christine Birrell - Alec Hunter Academy

Debbie Bailey - Fred Nicholson School

Debra Robinson - Heaton Manor School

Eloise Packer – Holyrood Academy

Emma Watts - The Academy Selsey

Fiona Mather – Bedlingtonshire Community High School

Gill Lawrie - James Calvert Spence College

Helen Clarke - Mount Carmel Catholic High School

Helen McIllmurray – Avonbourne College

Jade Downes - Brine Leas School

Jeanette Wessen - The Robert Napier School

Jennifer Menzies - St Michaels CofE High School

Jenny Ruth – Brentwood County High School

Jo Sherriff - St Anthonys Girls Catholic Academy


Karina Doherty – Eastlea Community School

Kate Hawkes – Oakgrove School

Kathryn Dare - Welland Park Academy

Kulsoom Khan – Penwortham Girls High School

Lorraine Mason - The Hayling College

Michaela Phillips - St Peters Catholic School

Nick Shapland - Forest Gate Community School

Nicky Nunns - Simon Langton Girls’ Grammar School

Rachel Hansbro – Rodillian Academy

Reanne Code - Wath Comprehensive

Rebecca Potter - Ormiston Forge Academy

Regina Darcy - Archbishop Ilsley Catholic School

Rosie Honeyman-Smith - Sutton Community Academy

Sarah-Jane Le-Strange - Children’s Support Services

Sarah Badzire - Clare Mount Specialist Sports College

Sarah Farrell – Ormskirk School

Sarah Quick - West Exe Technology College

Sarah Tootle - Burscough Priory Science College

Sheila Arnott - Newbroad Walk Pupil Referral Unit

Sophie Milovsorov - Holly Hall Academy

Vicki Simper - Chipping Campden School

Our congratulations also go to a further two schools that achieved 5% increases over two half terms:

Philippa Wraithmell – Nottingham Academy

Sheila Arnott – The Clifton Centre Pupil Referral Unit

Overall the Champions have seen increased school meal revenue in their schools by approximately £1.03million that’s on average an additional 27 meals served per day over the life of the programme.

Back to News